Discover the WHO!

Soul searching

Last night I was chatting to a friend of mine who is now a lawyer living and working in Manchester, England. An interesting person… strong willed, very independent and happily single. Good conversation to me is priceless and I always enjoy my conversations with her cos she’s witty, frank and intelligent.. not an easy combination to come by these days. So we were discussing life in general when we arrived at the question of finding one’s purpose in life. We wondered if each person had a predestined purpose in life which would be revealed to them in a sudden epiphany when the time was right, or if our purpose in life was simply whatever we chose it to be. We both agreed on the latter.

The way I see it, we were given a mind capable of originating thoughts and ideas of our own, a body capable of taking action to realise those thoughts & ideas and most importantly freewill to decide everything from what colour we want to wear today to what we want to do with our lives. No purpose has to be more or less worthy than another. If you want to be a pastry chef with your own bakery that’s great, if you want to be a preacher and teach people to love each other that’s great, maybe you want to be a scientist and find a cure for the common cold which would be fantastic or maybe you just want to have a family and be a great mom which I think is swell!

I think people waste a lot of time searching for this elusive, or should I say illusive purpose they think is somewhere out there waiting to be found. What if it’s not? What if it’s whatever you want it to be? Maybe that’s the gift God gave you… a life to make of it whatever you wish! Maybe we’re confusing finding ourselves with finding our purpose. Maybe if we looked inside ourselves more often and took more time getting to know ourselves better we would have no problem figuring out our purpose in life… it might suddenly even be very clear to us.

I’ve decided that I’m going to take more time to discover myself and not worry about my purpose in life… that will surely be realised as I get to know who I am and who I want to be.

The way I see it, the key to figuring out the ‘what‘ in ‘what do I do with my life?’ is to find out the ‘who‘ in ‘who am I?‘ – And there you have it! ๐Ÿ˜€

p.s. Check out the trailer to the new Dr. Seuss’ movie “Horton Hears a Who” – my friend says it’s hilarious! – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r6tGRmmhxj0

~ by Dilruha on March 24, 2008.

2 Responses to “Discover the WHO!”

  1. All problems in life can be solved with a beer or a joint.

  2. I am Japanese Buddhist. The core of this teaching is to find yourself. By this it means to “know yourself.” Who am I? It is taught that when this is known, then our purpose of life is automatically konwn too.
    There is a book titled YOU WERE BORN FOR A REASON by Takamori which explains this very well.
    Best wishes, and I enjoyed reading about your insights.

    Frank

Leave a Reply

 
