A New Earth

I have to recommend to you all this book I’m reading called “A New Earth” by Eckhart Tolle. It’s one of those books that can completely change how you perceive yourself and in turn how you perceive and relate to the world around you. I’m still very much at the beginning of the book, as I am a slow reader, but even from the little I’ve read, I feel this is no ordinary book… this is the kind of book that will help usher in the new age of self awareness and could cause a shift in the consciousness of our whole planet by changing the individual consciousness of so many.

The book is about realising and recognising your true self from the egoic self that you apparently construct and create for yourself and use as an identity. This egoic self unceasingly seeks to add unto and better establish itself by way of acquiring and identifying with people, things, titles etc. all of which are external and impermanent. The egoic self is said to be insatiable and ultimately destined to be unfulfilled, which is why he suggests finding your true self or your spirit and thereby your purpose in life, will add great depth, joy and fulfillment to your life.

The complete title of the book is “A New Earth – Awakening to your life’s purpose” and I do hope you decide to check it out. It is an easy read, simply written, with beautiful ideas and enlightening thoughts that bring about many “aha moments” as you read along. Let me know what you think if you do read it or already have.

~ by Dilruha on July 13, 2008.

2 Responses to “A New Earth”

  1. Sounds interesting…you should also try The Soul of Money by Lynne Twist if you like this kind of book

  2. I read this book right after I read the secret. I must agree with everything you have to say about it. I don’t belive I consiously created an ego but nevertheless it was there. It truly gave me a better perspective of myself, thus making more aware of those around me. As for the a ha moments….. So many, it had me going for a while.
    Good writing, keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

 
