My Room Redone!

I chose the smallest room in the house to be my bedroom mostly because I felt it was private and cosy, sort of like an attic with its sloping, wooden ceiling. For a long time it looked pretty uninteresting as I only used it to sleep in at night and had done nothing to it. In fact, I hardly ever spent any time in it at all. I was a drifter in my own home… I hung out in everyone else’s room except mine.

Earlier this year though, I woke up one morning inspired… I saw the potential to turn this small room into a space I’d want to spend more time in and actually be proud to call my room”. It started with just wanting to paint the walls a lighter colour… then I went on to paint a design, that to me, represented the cycle of life, on the half wall next to my desk. This turned out pretty well and then my interest in redecorating my room really took off and it became a proper project.

Since then I’ve acquired most of what I wanted in order to create my vision of a relaxing, comfortable, artsy room that mirrored my style. It’s kinda dark but romantic, ideal to just sit and read or listen to Norah Jones late at night in. I love lanterns and lamp light… lighting is so important, it truly sets the mood. The room to me will always be a work in progress, as that is the way it is with me… there’s always room for improvement! Its about 90% done though, so I thought I’d share a few pictures with you all. Let me know what you think!

~ by Dilruha on August 14, 2008.

10 Responses to “My Room Redone!”

  1. V. Nice. The painting of the nude, yours? As in the artist.
    Enjoy the solstice. After marriage, kids and life, having a room of your own becomes next to impossible. So then it either has to be your own office or study. But never a room you actually sleep in. I miss my own room if you get what I mean?

  2. NICE!! thought if that’s what you call small, i wonder what big is πŸ˜€

  3. Nice.

  4. Thanks all! No d, I didn’t paint the nude, bought it outside the park on Greenpath. Pissu P, believe me the room is very small by anyone’s standards, maybe the pics are deceiving. x

  5. nice decorating! i like that couch. can i have it? πŸ™‚

  6. Seriously – how is this room small?! you’ve got a bed, a sofa of some kinda and a table?! Loving the lamps. You’ve done a really good job!

  7. I love the motif on the wall! inspired!! πŸ™‚

  8. wow thats nice. i love the design!

  9. totally nice…. πŸ™‚

  10. love the paintings n colors. Beautiful

Leave a Reply

 
