In the days gone by…

I haven’t felt much like writing in the past few months thus the sporadic postings. The months have really flown by and I can’t believe it will soon be December. It’s sad that I’ve been ignoring my blog… somewhere along the line I felt like I couldn’t write as freely as I did when I started out, now that a lot of people knew who I was. The relative anonymity at the start made writing a lot less intimidating. I don’t know what came over me, every time I wrote something I felt like I would be crazy to publish it. Also, what’s been occupying my mind space in the past few months was sometimes too personal to write about and yet nothing else seemed worth writing or thinking about either so I was conflicted. I had to remind myself why I first started this blog… for Myself, as a chronicle of my thoughts more than anything else. So I’m back and I hope to write more often again.

Anyway, a quick recap of the past few months… I turned 26 on the 1st of October and it was a quiet but really happy day for me. I got lots of flowers!!! 🙂 I just love flowers… in fact, one arrangement I received was the biggest bunch of flowers I’ve ever gotten in my life! It was a great surprise, really made my day! It was so beautiful it had to be documented here.


birthdayfwrs

About 75% of the effects of Bell’s Palsy on my face faded away but then all improvement came to a halt. I was urged by many to try acupuncture so I thought I’d give it a try. Before my first session I was quite cocky, I thought I’d barely even feel such fine needles but boy was I wrong.. them little needles hurt!! I felt like the doctor was playing darts on my face and afterwards I felt rather like a pin cushion just sitting there. However, once you get used to it, its not bad at all… in fact that half an hour of your day becomes a very relaxing time in which you get the chance to just be still and reflect a little, it’s truly therapeutic (the soothing, piped music helps).

acupuncture1 You can really feel something going on in your nerves, it’s fascinating. In my case I have no pain so I don’t need relief, I just need results. I’ve been going for about 3 weeks now and just as I was getting impatient with the lack of visible improvement… BAM!! I suddenly saw a real improvement in the movement of my mouth and my eyebrow! Now I know I must keep going. The Doctor I go to is just the nicest guy and he has the most tranquil little clinic in Nugegoda. Acupuncture can be used to treat all sorts of ailments and you wouldn’t believe the number of people who come to this doctor… they all swear by it and rave about the results they’ve had.

Last month I had a great little reunion with the girl who was my best friend in school when I was 12! She’s Maldivian and I’d last seen her on my 13th Birthday after which we lost touch and she moved away. 13 years later we finally met again here in Colombo after reconnecting on facebook. It was so great and amazing how easily we picked up from where we left off. It was her Birthday on the day we first met up so I got her a small gift when I went to see her… coincidentally it was the same thing she got me as gift from the Maldives! As we discussed the events of our lives, we were surprised at the very similar experiences we had both gone through over the years. I felt like I finally got my long lost friend back…we both appreciated each other so much, it was really something!

Finally the best news I have is that I finally made my work more official and professional by setting up a company and a little office for myself away from my house. See I used to work freelance (graphic design) from home but I wasn’t taking it too seriously and working from home made me very lazy. My brother pushed me to get off my ass and start this company. He did all the paperwork and whatnot to set it all up… I now go to work and I actually enjoy it! I am very excited about having my own business which I’ve named “Créatrice”, it means female creator in French. I will post more on its progress soon but for now I must thank my brother for helping me change my life.

crtlogo

This year has been pretty eventful for me. With a month and a half more to go I wonder what more is in store…

~ by Dilruha on November 6, 2008.

One Response to “In the days gone by…”

  1. Love the name and logo! Nice. All the best with the creative hot shop! :)xx

Leave a comment