My Chance Encounter…

I love this song! It’s def one of my favourites! A few years ago I had the great pleasure of meeting Sting in person, shaking his hand and exchanging a few words right here in Colombo. It was totally  random – a dream come true for me as I’ve always been a fan of his music.

One night, a few years ago, my boyfriend  and I together with my best friend and her boyfriend at the time, dropped in to the Gallery Café for dessert. Little did I know that the awesome chocolate cheesecake was not going to be the highlight of my visit that night. Once we had finished and were ready to leave, there was a bit of a commotion. The owner of the restaurant hurried past us mentioning something to us in passing… I didn’t really catch what he said but I realised he had an important guest to attend to. We quickly found out from a waiter that Sting was dining at the restaurant with 2 friends. I was overjoyed as just a week ago, I was quite disappointed when I attended a party at the Bayleaf at which Sting was supposed to make an appearance and maybe even perform but he never showed! This was my chance to see him in person!

I caught a glimpse of him at his table and since none of us were the type to act like crazed fans or disturb him during his dinner, we got up to leave, happy that we got to at least see the man.  A few minutes later, as we were walking out, I heard some voices a few feet behind us and when I looked back it was him! He was right behind us, walking almost with us in the doorway! I remember feeling very giddy but still had no intention of trying to talk to the man – just getting to see him so up close was good enough for me. My best friend and her boyfriend weren’t going to make a move to talk to him either but luckily for all of us, my boyfriend, being the outgoing person he is, went straight up to him at the car park, introduced himself and all of us to Sting! I was so happy all I could do was smile from ear to ear, shake his hand (while desperately trying to keep my composure) and tell him I was ‘a big fan’ (like he hadn’t heard that before!). I can’t even remember what he said back to me. My boyfriend had a nice little chat with him about what he was doing in Sri Lanka (he was here on an effort to help victims of the Tsunami), while my best friend pretty much yelled out something a little corny like “we love your music!”- lol!

It was a thrilling experience for us all and we still laugh about my best friend’s last words! I just wish I had a camera… 🙂

~ by Dilruha on January 21, 2009.

One Response to “My Chance Encounter…”

  1. the man hears of a humanitarian disaster. travels to a little island off the coast of india to ‘help out’, and gets swamped by groupies!

    something wierd in that..

Leave a Reply

 
